Wyoming Regional Seminar 2019: TLC Trial Skill Foundations
06/08/2019 - 06/14/2019
Dubois, Wyoming - Thunderhead Ranch
Gerry Spence has taught us that the greater an attorney’s understanding of the self, the deeper the attorney can understand clients, opposing counsel, judges and, ultimately, the jurors. Surrounded by the beauty of the Wyoming mountains, this seminar taught on the Thunderhead Ranch in Dubois, WY will give students the opportunity to learn about themselves in ways that will help them become more effective trial lawyers as they fight and seek justice. Led by experienced faculty (at least a 6:1 student-faculty ratio), students will be given the opportunity to unlock their full potential. The TLC Trial Skill Foundations course gives you a peaceful and secluded environment in which to reflect, take time for yourself, learn about yourself, and build new relationships with trial lawyers from across the country, providing the support and network for greater satisfaction and more resounding courtroom successes. Open to Lawyers and Paralegals from qualifying law offices. This course was previously titled Psychodrama for Lawyers.
The Thunderhead Ranch offers an opportunity to step back, take a break from your busy life, and reconnect with the land and yourself. Located 20 miles east of Dubois, WY and 100 miles east of Jackson Hole and Yellowstone National Park, the Thunderhead Ranch is rimmed by Wyoming's Absaroka and Wind River mountains. With the East Fork River flowing through the ranch, the TLC campus includes dormitories, classrooms, a cookhouse, and additional meeting rooms in our refurbished barns and 17 other ranch buildings.
TLC Faculty Leaders: TBA
Staff must arrive by 3 PM on June 8.
OPENING DAY, Saturday, June 8:
June 9-13 - General Schedule
June 14: Shuttle to Jackson, Wyoming will leave the Ranch at 7:30 AM
Approved for 42 hours of CLE by the Wyoming State Bar.
This course was previously titled Psychodrama for Lawyers, and will focus on psychodrama with some sessions on Directing Skills.
Registration deadline is Monday, June 3, 2019 unless the course sells out earlier.
Several articles are required reading as a part of your course. Printed copies will not be provided to you. Download the TLC course materials from our website.
Applicant must be a member of their State Bar in good standing or paralegal of qualified attorney (contact Nancy Shore for paralegal registration information). Must also be a plaintiff's lawyer, public defender, or a criminal defense lawyer, or a paralegal in a qualifying firm. TLC does not offer training to attorneys who are an employee of a corporation, insurance firm or of the federal government.
Meals are served buffet style in the Ranch Cookhouse. The dorm rooms are small and spartan (with two each of the following: twin bed, nightstand, table, chair, closet area). You will be sharing a room with a lawyer of the same gender. The men’s and women’s restrooms and showers are located at the end of the hallway. We provide a pillow and bedding (towels, pillowcase, sheets, blanket, bedspread), but you need to bring your own toiletries (e.g., shampoo, soap, lotion, deodorant, toothpaste, toothbrush, earplugs). A laundry room is available for your use and laundry soap is provided. Due to space limitations, TLC is unable to provide housing to accommodate your family or friends.
Casual Dress: Plan to dress in comfort, not in style. When you’re indoors, sneakers (or good walking shoes), jeans, t-shirts and sweatshirts are appropriate. Bring a bathrobe, too. When you’re outdoors, cotton clothing is fine for warm days but has minimal insulating value, especially when wet. In June, temperatures in Dubois range from 70° F (average high) to 39° F (average low). The average daytime temperature is 54° F and the evenings are chilly. Bring wool and synthetic clothing that can be comfortably layered. Optional outdoor gear includes: rain/wind jacket and pants, down or fleece coat, water-resistant hiking boots, good socks, long underwear, winter hat, winter gloves or mittens, baseball cap, flashlight, water bottle, camera, daypack, sunscreen and insect repellant. For class time, bring a notebook or journal and a pen. Bring a printout of your flight itinerary, coins for the soda machine, and a phone card to make long-distance calls (because cellular service is limited and Internet access is not available, except in emergency situations). If you’re a musician, bring your instrument!
Travel Information LOCATION: 105 miles NE of Jackson and 75 miles NW of Riverton, both which have airports and are 1.5 - 2 hours away. RENTAL CARS: Rental car agencies are located in Jackson. Driving directions can be found on the website.
FREE SHUTTLE SERVICE: Shuttle service will be provided on 6/8 and 6/14 from Jackson Hole Airport to/from Thunderhead Ranch. On 6/8, the shuttle will depart from the airport at 3 PM and arrive at Thunderhead Ranch no later than 5 PM. On 6/14, the shuttle will depart from Thunderhead Ranch at 7:30 AM and arrive at the Jackson airport no later than 10:30 AM. Additionally, the shuttle will stop at the Spence Law Firm in downtown Jackson on 6/8 and 6/14; times to be announced later. Please note the Spence Firm has no details about the shuttle.
An email will be sent to registered attendees with shuttle and course information.
The entire balance for a TLC course is due 90 days after the start date of the course, unless other arrangements have been made with the Registrar or Financial Officer. Any registrations made within 5 days of the start of the course must be paid in full at the time of registration. Tuition payments are only transferable to another TLC course within the same calendar year or to a substitute participant for the same course. Cancellations must be e-mailed to TLCs Registrar, email@example.com. For all courses except Graduate I and Graduate II:Cancellations received at least 14 calendar days prior to the course will receive a full refund. Cancellations received 13 – 6 calendar days prior to the course will receive a 50% refund. We regret that no refunds can be made 5 days or less prior to the start date of the course. Graduate I and Graduate II Course Cancellation Policy: All students must remit a non-refundable $500 deposit at the time of registration to hold their space in the course. After that, the traditional cancellation policy applies.