Louisiana Regional Seminar 2020: Discover the Story of Your Case
12/03/2020 - 12/06/2020
New Orleans, Louisiana - Hampton Inn Convention Center
At this 4-day seminar in New Orleans, you will learn the TLC methods necessary to discover the winning story. You will learn how to tap into your own power to bring these stories to life in the courtroom. Taught by trial lawyers trial lawyers and behavioral and communication experts [at least a 6:1 student-faculty ratio], you will learn our innovative TLC methods by doing, not suffering through endless lectures. Small group work on your own cases will help make our methods immediately accessible to you in the courtroom. Join us and learn how to bring your clients’ stories to life in the courtroom to win the justice they deserve. Limited to 60 students.
The vibrant French Quarter in New Orleans is a destination everyone should experience in their lifetime, and now is the time! February is the best time to learn the deep history of our South away from the large crowds that visit in March and April. The Hampton Inn & Suites Convention Center, New Orleans sits on the banks of the Mississippi and a short 20-minute walk from the French Quarter.
All Trial Lawyers College courses are taught by graduates of the College, who volunteer their time, talents and resources to provide high-quality training not offered in any other CLE program. Because our faculty are volunteers, and are actively practicing in their respective firms, our faculty list is subject to change.
Course leaders: JR Clary, Jr; Mel Orchard; Anne Valentine
Staff must arrive by 5PM on December 2.
OPENING DAY Thursday, December 3:
3 - 5 PM – Registration
6 - 7 PM Dinner
7 - 9 PM - First session
Friday & Saturday
8 AM - 9 AM Breakfast
9 AM - 12 Noon Working Sessions
12 PM - 1 PM Lunch
2 PM - 5 PM Working Sessions
6 PM – 7 PM Dinner
7 PM - 9 PM Working Sessions
CLOSING DAY Sunday, December 6: 8 AM - 9 AM Breakfast
9 AM - 12 Noon Small Group Working Sessions
The seminar will adjourn by 12:30 PM on Sunday.
Pending approval by the Louisiana Supreme Court MCLE department.
Several articles are required reading as a part of your course but you are not required to read them prior to the course. Printed copies will not be provided to you, but may be downloaded at any time from the TLC website (https://www.triallawyerscollege.org/register-for-a-course/course-materials/).
Applicants must be a member of their State Bar in good standing, and actively practicing law. Applicants must also be a plaintiff's lawyer, public defender, or a criminal defense lawyer. TLC does not offer training to attorneys who are an employee of a corporation, insurance firm or of the federal government.
The course fee ($1699) includes tuition, and meals during the seminar. Sleeping rooms must be reserved directly with the seminar hotel, and you may use this link prior to November 3, 2020:
Course registration deadline is the Monday prior to the course start date unless the course is sold out prior to that date. Because of the popularity of this course and location, we anticipate it will sell out quickly.
Visit the hotel’s website for location information:
The entire balance for a TLC course is due 90 days after the start date of the course, unless other arrangements have been made with the Registrar or Financial Officer. Any registrations made within 5 days of the start of the course must be paid in full at the time of registration. Tuition payments are only transferable to another TLC course within the same calendar year or to a substitute participant for the same course. Cancellations must be e-mailed to TLCs Registrar, email@example.com.
For all courses except Graduate I and Graduate II: Cancellations received at least 14 calendar days prior to the course will receive a full refund. Cancellations received 13 – 6 calendar days prior to the course will receive a 50% refund. We regret that no refunds can be made 5 days or less prior to the start date of the course.
Graduate I and Graduate II Course Cancellation Policy: Applications to a graduate program must be submitted by the deadline: midnight on February 14, 2020. No tuition fee will be required to accompany an application. By the end of February, applicants for both Grad 1 and 2 will be notified as to their acceptance status. If a student is offered a spot, upon his/her acceptance they will be required to submit a $500.00 non-refundable deposit to confirm that spot; and then make payment arrangements with Lori Schmidt, our Financial Officer, to ensure full payment of the tuition due by commencement of the August Course (taking into consideration any scholarships that have been granted.) Except for the non-refundable $500.00 deposit, the traditional cancellation policy outlined above will apply.